Peace Dollars worth having graded?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by NM Rookie, Aug 21, 2020.

1. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

Hi gang, long time lurker first time poster. My Grandparents left me their coin collection when they passed away a few years back. I know a LITTLE about coins “just enough to be dangerous” so not much. Anyways I’d been looking at the Peace dollars they left me and wondering if I should send any off to PCGS/NGC? I know they’re in kind of rough shape. In my uneducated opinion I think some of they may have been cleaned? But I’d leave that to you experts. So I’m hoping to post the pictures and get your thoughts? Do I need a new thread for each one? Or just post them one at at time? Thanks in advance, and pl be patient ;) as the name implies I’m just a rookie

George McClellan and Kentucky like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

4. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

5. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

6. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

7. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

8. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

9. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

10. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

What a wonderful gift left to you by your grandparents. They all appear to be 1922 Philly mint coins and that is a very common date. As far as having them graded in hopes of adding value, I wouldn’t do it. The first dollar has a damaged rim which will render it ungradable. Of the others, the bottom dollar appears to be your best..... I am not a fan of grading coins valued less than about $250.00. These aren’t that highly valued. I am however a huge fan of slabbing coins for family posterity. If you want to keep them and pass them to future generations, you would be doing them a huge favor having them slabbed..... Welcome to the fun!

11. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

12. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

13. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member

14. NM Rookie

NM Rookie New Member