PCGS says "cleaned"

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by johnmatt, Aug 21, 2017.

1. johnmatt

johnmatt Well-Known Member

Back from PCGS recently, they called it cleaned unc details. What do y'all see (or not see) that makes you agree (or disagree) with that grade? 1909 $5 cleaned.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

This area looks suspicious.. They can detect chemicals used that can be left as residue in areas like the incused areas on your coin.
    gold.JPG

imrich likes this.
  4. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

still a great coin.

5. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

Yes, it looks pretty darn good for a cleaned coin. The fields aren't very bouncy, that's all.

6. johnmatt

johnmatt Well-Known Member

They gave this one an ms63 grade. I think I see some similar residue on it also. Fwiw- a little history, they have both been in a capital plastics holder for 30+ yrs. 1915 $5 ms63.jpg

7. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

This coin was one of those that @jwitten would have loved to buy . . . it had loads of original rose / bronze color before being cleaned. You can still see lots of remnants of that toning in the protected areas of the coin. I cannot make out any cleaning lines in the photos, and suspect the coin was probably dipped or swabbed to remove the color in the easy-to-access areas.

jwitten likes this.
  8. jwitten

jwitten Well-Known Member

Beautiful coin. I would imagine it could eventually get into a straight holder

9. TypeCoin971793

TypeCoin971793 Just a random guy on the internet

It is one of those coins that a dealer would buy as cleaned and sell as original and not look completely wrong (but completely unethical).

10. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

It's a nice looking coin. I would hold on to it and send it in again in the future.

11. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator