PCGS PVC Residue Label in Flip

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Endeavor, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

Was this cracked out of a slab and put into a flip or does PCGS send it back to the submitter this way?

I'm inclined to think it was sent this way because the label doesn't have "PCGS" on it although it does have a cert #.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Yes they do or did at one time. Also environmental damage.

Endeavor likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

They return it that way.. never slabbed

Endeavor likes this.
  5. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

It's what used to be called a body bag, all TPGs used them. Prior to 2007 all problem coins were returned that way. Today, a few still are. But most problem coins are now slabbed in what is known as Detail holders.

One of the biggest mistakes the TPGs ever made in my opinion. And the breaking of a promise that they made to the numismatic community, and repeated, for 20 years. For 20 years they swore up and down they'd never do it - then they did.

'Course they swore they'd never change grading standards too, and today still swear they haven't - but they did, and numerous times. Today they even accuse each other of loosening grading standards !

Endeavor and Paddy54 like this.
  6. Paddy54

Doug I can't recall but when they did return a coin as posted they didn't charge for it unless it was in a holder. Correct? Now they holder everything and hear the cash register ring..... and still detail it.
    I have get a few back in body bags.... in my time.

Seattlite86 and Endeavor like this.
  7. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

Why do you say this was a mistake? There are many non-gradeable coins that benefit from slabbing, be it for provenance, authenticity, or simply due to them being high value due to the rarity.