PCGS Coin -condensation on edge of holder? Normal?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Redsquirrel, Mar 14, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Redsquirrel

Redsquirrel New Member

I got a PCGS black holder Morgan the other day, one of those 100th anniversary ones and it shows some condensation or stain on the one edge, is this normal? And do you think this is toning or like dirt or something on the front? I think it's toning but it's pretty brown.....hmmmmm I'm no expert lol.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

• 2323.jpg
      2323.jpg
      File size:
      122.5 KB
      Views:
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

Looks like the morgan might of been in a album and got some residue.You sure thats authentic?don't recall seeing a PCGS holder like yours.Can you get full pictures of the slab,might be counterfeit,where did you buy it.

Redsquirrel likes this.
  4. Redsquirrel

Redsquirrel New Member

Hi, I don't have a better picture at the moment I got it from Apmex. So I think it's normal, just looked a bit odd with that condensation thanks!

5. Redsquirrel

Redsquirrel New Member

6. potty dollar 1878

Nothing is truly 100% air tight and things can happen.What effected your coin was a environmental factor from something. If you like it then keep it but technically it is a details coin now.

Redsquirrel likes this.
  7. ifthevamzarockin

ifthevamzarockin Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum! :)

Looks like you purchased a MS-63 1921 Morgan.
    Morgan dollars can tone over time for many reasons.
    Some tone with bright colors and some tone darker with black & grey shades.
    It doesn't look like there is anything "wrong" with the coin.
    I would be willing to bet it is a market acceptable coin for a MS-63 grade.
    This is the problem with buying from a bulk listing with stock photos.

Redsquirrel likes this.
  8. Redsquirrel

Redsquirrel New Member

9. Redsquirrel

Redsquirrel New Member