Overweight 1940 wheat penny

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by RLGluvcoins, Jun 19, 2019.

1. RLGluvcoins

RLGluvcoins Active Member

I have a 1940 s wheat penny that weighs 3.3 grams I have looked everywhere and I can't find anything for 1940s that says that's normal what could be wrong is it a good thing or bad thing where with my luck is it just because thank you 15609479245506057068638465174966.jpg 15609480152632272926733769045019.jpg 15609481047632305109468986879810.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

The normal weight for a Copper Cent should be 3.11 grams
    3.3 grams is within weight tolerance.
    Many coins have a +/- weight varience.
    Nothing major. Just a little thicker than normal planchet.

RLGluvcoins likes this.
  4. RLGluvcoins

Ok thanks. I only found one article where another person had one but that was a forum from 2011. Screenshot_20190619-034014~2.png

5. RLGluvcoins

But its in pretty good shape yes?

6. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Eh. Normal circulation wear for a 79 year old coin. I find coins in this shape pretty frequently while roll searching.

RLGluvcoins likes this.
  7. RLGluvcoins

If its wore down why does it flicker back and forth from 3.3 and 3.4 shouldnt it be lighter not heavier

8. RLGluvcoins

I thought because there are no scratches or the penny isnt worn down I would get a better response on the look of it. Im new though soooo

9. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

The tolerance is +/- .13 2.98-3.24.
    Since your scale only goes to tenths, it could be 3.26 rounded off to 3.3
    and 2 hundredths is not enough out of tolerance to be anything.
    If it was 3.5, then that's heavy.

RLGluvcoins and furryfrog02 like this.
  10. furryfrog02