Original Bag of 1964 Kennedy Halves, Opened & Graded by NGC

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by iPen, Apr 24, 2020.

1. iPen

iPen Well-Known Member

Interesting submission received by NGC. NGC's chairman himself opens it. Not sure about the handling of the coins but very neat.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

True.. I saw the video yesterday and I was wondering why he didn't wear gloves! He also handles that blade a bit clumsy. But it is a marvelous find and event!

4. I'm a bit suspicious about the label. In the early 70's my take home was just over $50. So every second week I took home a bag of cents from the Winters' Bank. Not once did the bag have LINCOLN on it or the tag. I tried to get bags of old Cents, but every once in a while I would get a bag of new ones when they had nothing else.

5. stldanceartist

stldanceartist Minister of Silly Walks

I don't care so much about the FDI label, but I sure would have liked to have checked that bag for die varieties...

6. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

Publicity stunt. They will be sold in special labels, and the tv pitchmen jacking up the hype to charge 8 times more than the coins are worth.

Beanie baby coin IMHO.

8. GoldFinger1969

GoldFinger1969 Well-Known Member

I'm reading alot about minor die varieties in my Saints book. If die varities are created by the normal wear-and-tear of a die, is it really something that should be of interest to us ?

We don't call brand new cars with scratches different models, right ?
    :D

Steve Bostwick likes this.
  9. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Die varieties are not created by the normal wear and tear of the dies. Die states or die stages yes, die varieties no.

10. stldanceartist

I think saying that die varieties are caused by "normal wear and tear of a die" is a bit of an oversimplification and ignores many types of die varieties.