Opinions,

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by bruthajoe, Dec 4, 2021.

1. bruthajoe

bruthajoe Still Recovering

Still playing with the preservation idea of contaminated mint sets. Specifically the late 70's early 80's sets that were contained in some type of cellophane sleeves. This was my most dramatic approach and result so far... (I'm sure this method will be frowned upon). Can you guess what I did? IMG_20211204_141248__01.jpg IMG_20211204_141846__01.jpg IMG_20211204_141257__01.jpg IMG_20211204_141839__01.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Dipped in acetone?

Insider likes this.
  4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Not sure but at least you are trying it out on low value moderns.

bruthajoe likes this.
  5. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

I don't know, but I wouldn't consider it an improvement.

gronnh20 and Insider like this.
  6. bruthajoe

Way more potent than acetone.

gronnh20 likes this.
  7. bruthajoe

I'm curious why. Did you like the tones of the coins? Even though it's considered contamination?

8. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

They looked better before. They looked natural. Now they look cleaned.

9. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Looks like some bug not all off the luster has been removed. I agree, I like them before.

What makes you think the set was contaminated?

10. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

They looked like nice natural coins to begin with, now it looks as though the surface has actually been stripped, especially the cent. I will second Collecting Nut, what makes you say they were contaminated? If they were, something like acetone would most likely remove the contaminant without hurting the coins.

Collecting Nut likes this.
  11. YankeeDime

YankeeDime non-conformant

Diluted hydrochloric acid?

bruthajoe likes this.
  12. bruthajoe

35%HCl

13. bruthajoe