Opinions on this one please .

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by bcuda, Jan 27, 2020.

1. bcuda

bcuda El Ibérico loco

Looking at buying this one.
    The seller seems to be legit.
    But it just seems to be just to nice of a coin and it kinda scares me cause it is so nice.
    Post up your opinions please . If you don't want to leave a public opinion feel free to send me a message.

Thanks to everyone here for all the help you provide ! s-l1600d.png
    s-l1600c.png
    s-l1600e.png

panzerman, akeady and Exodus_gear like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coin_nut

coin_nut Well-Known Member

Looks good to me, kinda thick, what is the denomination? I normally go by my gut feeling, and I like that one. I am not an ancient expert by any means.

bcuda likes this.
  4. Gecko99

Gecko99 New Member

I am not an ancient coin expert either, but from what I can tell from the pictures it does not look like the coin is a cast replica. Is the seller trying to sell it for too cheap a price? cause that may be an indicator that it may be fake if they are giving you a "good deal". But otherwise to me it looks like a beautiful specimen. I wish you the best of luck!!

bcuda likes this.
  5. bcuda

bcuda El Ibérico loco

The seller's price is right in line or maybe above the value of a real one.

6. Marsyas Mike

Marsyas Mike Well-Known Member

A very inexpert opinion here: it is an attractive coin, but the color worries me. I only say this because eBay is loaded with fake Roman AE's with this kind of blue-green "patina". Most of them are from eastern Europe. Some have obvious stylistic problems that scream "fake" but others are rather well done.

I just thought I'd mention it.

bcuda and ominus1 like this.
  7. HaleiwaHI

HaleiwaHI Active Member

Since I am not a Roman coin collector, my first question would be: is the selling price a primary reason to doubt that it is legitimate? Or are there other factors that you would initially consider?