Online Coin Databases

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by George Michaels, May 3, 2015.

1. George Michaels

George Michaels New Member

Hi, I am new to these forums, so I will do my best to follow etiquette. I have been collecting US circulated coins for two decades now and it is a great hobby that keeps me coming back every few years on a fresh (gulp) buying binge.

I also tend to be a quantity over quality kind of collector and I really like getting a lot of different coins, though this is expensive as I really prefer Silver and Gold over clad.

In any case, I have been really dissatisfied with type of info available online at the various sites. It is either a pain in the but to navigate or loaded (and I mean LOADED) with advertisements.

So my question was simply "what databases do you guys use to fetch information about coins you are looking at acquiring?"

In my frustration I went ahead and built my own database of all circulated US coins and launched it. So, what I would like to know is what other collectors like and don't like about the online databases that already exist so I can improve what I built to be useful to others. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

4. davidh

davidh soloist gnomic

5. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Exactly what kind of info is it that you want ? I'm asking because it would be much easier to answer your question if we knew that.

6. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

Buy books - I have yet to find online detail that I need on some series of coins.

7. George Michaels

OK, made a lot of progress on this.

Catawiki - seems to steer you straight to their auction site. It seems clear how these guys make their money. As soon as they get you to click into an auction area, you can't get back to the catalog. Yuck!

Photograde - Great for grading. For checklisting, notsomuch.

PCGS in general - Pay to play? Not interested.