One last coin for 2019 (wrestlers AR Stater)

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Sallent, Dec 5, 2019.

1. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

I shouldn't have, but I couldn't help myself. This is coin type I've been lusting after for 2 or 3 years. I know some of you also have this type of coin, so let's see them.

91800q00.jpg
    Selge, Pisidia
    Silver stater
    Selge Mint
    23.7mm, 9.054g
    O: two wrestlers, the left one holds the left wrist of his opponent with his right hand, and right forearm with his left hand, K between their legs.
    R:slinger discharging sling to right, wearing short chiton, ΣEΛΓEΩN upward on left, triskeles with feet counterclockwise over club on right, round border of dots.
    BMC Lycia 18, SNG BnF 1941, SNG Cop 247, SNG Delepierre 2827

chrsmat71, Volodya, Bob L. and 21 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Orielensis

Orielensis Well-Known Member

I've already shown this one very recently... but well, I'll play anyways. A "wrestlers-and-slinger" stater, but not from Selge:
    Magna Graecia – Pamphylien, Aspendos, Stater, Schleuderer:Ringer.png
    Pamphylia, Aspendos, AR stater, 380–325 BC. Obv: two wrestlers grappling; FИ between; in exergue, EΛVΦA MENETVΣ. Rev: slinger in throwing stance r.; EΣTFEΔIIYΣ to l., triskele to r.; all within dotted square border. 23mm, 11.04g. Ref: SNG France 97–98; Tekin: Aspendian Wrestlers (2000), series 4. Ex AMCC 1, lot 35; ex "Tiberius" collection.

Last edited: Dec 5, 2019
    chrsmat71, Volodya, PeteB and 16 others like this.
  4. Sallent

That's a real pretty one. I love the flow lines on the obverse, and the coin looks to have some cool high relief details. Very nice.

Orielensis likes this.
  5. panzerman

panzerman Well-Known Member

Sallent/ glad you gave in to your urge....you will never regret that. Lovely coin, I am happy you have it in your collection:happy:!

tibor and Sallent like this.
  6. Bing