On Being Patient...

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by aubade21, Nov 24, 2014.

1. aubade21

aubade21 Well-Known Member

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been told that I need to be patient. Slow and steady is the way to go. Whether it was saving up for a toy in my youth, or a car when I was a teen, or coins as an adult, setting aside a little money and avoiding impulse buys was always cautioned by those that are older and wiser. In 90% of my life, I do very well with that. With my car, my house, and my wife, I was patient, and chose well. The problem is, I’m not very good at it with coins. These round discs make me want to go and get a second mortgage, and barring that, rob the bank that wouldn’t give it to me. Okay, so I’m not that bad, but I do get a powerful itch to buy and bolster my collection, and I probably spend too much time looking for the next purchase without the cool head of somebody that knows with patience, I could probably get a better deal by just waiting. So perhaps the worst thing about impulse buys is that, when a really good deal comes around, the money is not there to take advantage.

So what’s the point? Well, I guess I’m wondering what sort of stories you guys have about how patience, or lack thereof, has affected you in collecting. I’ve heard a few cautionary tales about 20+ year collections bringing only ½ of what the seller originally paid. However, I have a lot of friends that are building collections with just choice coins, slowly and steadily, and will likely make out like bandits when it’s time to sell.

Does anybody have any edifying tales to share with a guy that is old enough to know better…?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator