Omega gold

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Paul M., May 9, 2016.

1. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

I've heard the stories and seen pictures of these coins, and I'd really like to own one. Any idea how I'd go about it and what I could expect to pay? I think I'd prefer a St. Gaudens double eagle. :)

Oh, and post your Omega gold coins, if you have any!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dancing Fire

Dancing Fire Junior Member

Are they legal to own?:confused:

Paul M. likes this.
  4. Paul M.

I've seen pictures of privately owned ones on the internets. They're probably about as illegal as Henning nickels.

I'm not a lawyer or affiliated with the DoJ or Secret Service, but my impression is that, while technically they may not be, the SS is not going to come busting down your door to seize them.

5. micbraun

micbraun coindiccted

Buy as many raw 1882 $3 and 1907 $20 as you can, especially when the price is too-good-to-be-true, and see if some have a tiny omega hidden inside the R of Liberty or somewhere else ;-)

Last edited: May 9, 2016
    Paul M. likes this.
  6. kaosleeroy108

kaosleeroy108 The Mahayana Tea Shop & hobby center

Just to let you know the Omega are illegal to own

7. harris498

harris498 Accumulator

I had an Omega $3 once.
    I did not purchase it as a counterfeit.
    It was an expensive learning experience. The denticles are the best tell, I found out later.

8. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

What are we talking about. Don't think I've ever heard of them

9. Burton Strauss III

Burton Strauss III Brother can you spare a trime? Supporter

10. Paul M.