Old Silver Certificate

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by DeputyDustin, Jul 27, 2015.

1. DeputyDustin

DeputyDustin New Member

I don't know anything about this field/hobby so I would appreciate any input. I got this thing probably five years ago and was told it would be worth quite a bit when I graduated high school. Was it a ruse?

image.jpg
    image.jpg

Last edited: Jul 27, 2015
    swamp yankee and Endeavor like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. chip

chip Novice collector

You have a black eagle one dollar silver certificate, if you could post larger scans I could tell what fr number or wether it is a mule or not and give you a ballpark figure for what it might go for today.

swamp yankee, NOS and Endeavor like this.
  4. DeputyDustin

DeputyDustin New Member

Thanks for your time!! Below is the best I could do with the equipment I have on hand.

I appreciate your help!

image.jpg image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg image.jpg

Endeavor likes this.
  5. chip

chip Novice collector

FR233, It looks to me to be about a Fine-12, retail would be about 130 dollars

Dean 295, swamp yankee, NOS and 2 others like this.
  6. DeputyDustin

DeputyDustin New Member

Thanks so much!

Endeavor likes this.
  7. Endeavor

Endeavor Well-Known Member

This thread was an interesting read. Nice note OP!

swamp yankee and DeputyDustin like this.
  8. Nevadabell

Nevadabell A picture of me.

I loved reading this. Nice Black Eagle you got there!

swamp yankee and DeputyDustin like this.
  9. DeputyDustin

DeputyDustin New Member

Haha. I am glad. I wasn't expecting positive feedback from a $130 piece of currency. I thought I'd get laughed out of here. :D

Oh, and thank you!

swamp yankee likes this.
  10. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

Fr.233 Black Eagle $1 1899 Silver Certificate....appears to be washed and pressed. You should be able to buy these all day long for under $100.

DeputyDustin likes this.
  11. DeputyDustin