Old Korean Banknote

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by jlleet, Jan 22, 2018.

1. jlleet

jlleet New Member

Anyone have any ideas on what this is? (history, value?) Something my grandfather had passed down.

Thanks for any insights!

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

I know nothing of S. Korea notes, but this look like it might be a nice piece, though a bit damaged. Hopefully @MEC2 has some comment.

4. Bert Gedin

Bert Gedin Well-Known Member

Hi Jlleet, The Korean banknote looks like it was before the separation (the 1950's) of North and South. The bad news is that it probably is not genuine - thus the "Speciman"!!!

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I believe Specimen notes demand a premium..
    I saw many at the NYINC coin show a few weeks ago. They were a bit pricey for me.

George McClellan likes this.
  6. Muzyck

Muzyck Rabbits!

It is a South Korean note. Listed in "The Standard Catalog" as P-20 with a date of 1956 or 1957. The note pictured in the catalog also has "specimen" on it. Yours is dated 4289 (1956).

Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  7. Bert Gedin

I don't understand this. If it says "Bank of Korea", which it does, I would have thought the note was before the separation. The war was in 1950 - 1953. And the banknote is from 1956 !

8. Muzyck

Muzyck Rabbits!

Modern notes still have "Bank Of Korea". South Korea is officially the Republic of Korea.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bank_of_Korea

9. lettow

lettow Senior Member

In this condition I would estimate a value of $350.00-500.00.

No specimens are shown to have sold on HA.com.

10. afantiques

afantiques Well-Known Member

Many years ago, and certainly up to the 1960s, it was a practice of British bank's foreign exchange departments to have a book of all the current foreign notes they thought they might encounter, as un-numbered 'Specimen' examples of genuine notes.