Odd Treasury Seal issue $100 Dollar Bill...

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by LegalTendr, Oct 6, 2019.

1. LegalTendr

LegalTendr New Member

Was recently checking serial numbers on a couple $100 dollar bills (from my rainy day/emergency stash) and the interesting oddity below happened to catch my attention. Searched the internet and a few online forums but couldn't find any information on how common (or rare) something like this might be...(?)...any feedback would be greatly appreciated...

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. masterswimmer

masterswimmer A Caretaker, can't take it with me

Care to share what your oddity might be?

LegalTendr likes this.
  4. LegalTendr

LegalTendr New Member

Second photo should be available now

5. masterswimmer

masterswimmer A Caretaker, can't take it with me

Interesting. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than me will chime in soon.

LegalTendr likes this.
  6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Can you provide a larger and clearer picture of the mystery seal? Does the wording look normal or in reverse?

LegalTendr likes this.
  7. James Shields

James Shields Active Member

My guess is the OP is referencing the Treasury seal being overprinted a millimeter lower than being perfectly centered. It’s well within BEP tolerances, and personally I’ve seen worse.

LegalTendr likes this.
  8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

There is a green mystery seal in the back of the note.

masterswimmer and LegalTendr like this.
  9. James Shields

James Shields Active Member

Thanks @paddyman98 ... I didn’t look at the photo of the back of the note since the OP mentioned the treasury seal which traditionally is on the front.

LegalTendr and paddyman98 like this.
  10. LegalTendr

LegalTendr New Member