Numismatic Photography by Mark Goodman

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by kanga, Jul 29, 2008.

1. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

Anyone got Numismatic Photography by Mark Goodman yet?
    I'm going to check at the ANA show this week.
    Like to see if I can get one at a discount.
    Actually full price wouldn't be bad since I wouldn't have to pay shipping.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

I have flipped through a copy but I don't own a copy. (There were none available at the time.) I plan to buy one when it is available.

Arizona Jack has a copy.

4. Smaugy

Smaugy Peg Leg Surfing

Actually I got my copy directly from Mark Goodman (selling them on Collectors Universe) for $22 total (no shipping cost). Signed by him and shipped to me. Nice book and really nice photos. Now if it will help me to improve....

Smaugy

5. sf340flier

sf340flier New Member

Just came in the mail for me.

I am not a professional photographer, and his book is perfect for me. He explains all the things I hear everyone talk about...f-stop, iso, etc. The first couple of chapters are a great intro. He explains things I didn't even know about (mirror-lock on my slr for instance...who knew???)

He also discusses the various methods to take pictures of different kinds of coins, from low contrast to high contrast. His discussion of lighting is great. He has tons of full color photos demonstrating different effects on the same coin side by side. I have really learned alot from my short read.

My only criticism is the book looks more like a thick magazine and I'm afraid it won't last too long if used like one of my normal reference books. So I'll have to treat it nicely.

Worth the price imo.

6. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

From the information I read several months ago the book was supposed to be spiral-bound. I think the book would have been better in that format.

7. Arizona Jack

Arizona Jack The Lincoln-ator