Not the only one

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Tat2, Mar 18, 2018.

1. Tat2

Tat2 Member

I appreciate all the commets. I may be taking some out of context but if not let me say don't think new means slow and stupid lol.. since i received a few replies where people said it had to be a ms and not a circulated coin, I'm going to reply to all at once. the thing that made the 1979 cent special and sell for 3800 was the fact that it was a circulated coin that was graded 68+. From what I've learned, the guy who posted that said that was the only thing that made the coin special and it was the first time a circulated coin was graded that high. I'm going to post a pic of the one that sold for that and mine. If I'm wrong please tell me because I think it is in better condition.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Impossible. Can you share the webpage?
    No circulated Cent can grade that high.

Stevearino likes this.
  4. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Circulated coins do not have MS grading. MS is Mint State meaning uncirculated. Please post what you have. Please do not respond negatively to good natured kidding. We all here would love for you to have a valuable coin, and we won't lie to you.

5. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

YouTube again?

Please understand that "circulated" does not describe a coin's history but its condition. While I wouldn't expect to go around finding accepted 68s in circulation, it's perfectly common to find coins that will technically grade into the "uncirculated" (MS) range in circulation.

And no, new certainty does not mean stupid. There's a lot of things/terms in this hobby that do not make a lot of sense to someone outside of it, so please understand it's perfectly normal to be confused. It has happened to each and every one of us, and anyone who says otherwise is lying. :)

6. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member