Nickel with two mintmarks?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by flipacoin, Jun 14, 2015.

1. flipacoin

flipacoin Active Member

I was tooling around with my new usb microscope and noticed, what looks to me, to be an S mintmark beside the Monticello on this Type 2 P nickel nickel 2.jpg nickel 3.jpg nickel 3.jpg nickel 4.jpg nickel 5.jpg nickel 6.jpg 1942 p.jpg nickel 19.jpg nickel 19.jpg nickel 2.jpg nickel 3.jpg nickel 4.jpg nickel 5.jpg nickel 6.jpg 1942 p.jpg nickel 19.jpg nickel 12.jpg . I took a few pics and would like some opinions on this please. Thanks, Jonathan

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

I think your seeing things. cause I'm not seeing anything

George Corell and Blissskr like this.
  4. flipacoin

flipacoin Active Member

This is what I'm seeing.
    nickel 3.jpg nickel 2.jpg

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Really? That's not a normal sized S mintmark for a coin milled at the P - Philadelphia Mint. Maybe debris of some kind.

swamp yankee likes this.
  6. Jwt708

Jwt708 Well-Known Member

I'm convinced that microscopes and coins do not mix - like eBay and alcohol.
    ;)

7. paddyman98

This is what a normal S Mintmark should look like -
    1940s.JPG

swamp yankee likes this.
  8. flipacoin

flipacoin Active Member

I'm not saying that it is or that it's not. This is the scientific process. I was just putting it up for analysis because even though it's not the same size or in the normal location, it looks like an s to me. Stranger things have happened.

Paddy54 likes this.
  9. paddyman98

Through my own scientific process I have determined that it is not. You did ask a question on your thread title so I gave my conclusive answer.

question.JPG

loopytoad74 likes this.
  10. flipacoin

flipacoin Active Member

and I appreciate your answer. Thanks

paddyman98 likes this.
  11. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .