NGC vs PCGS slabs

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by WingedLiberty, Apr 29, 2011.

1. WingedLiberty

WingedLiberty Well-Known Member

NGC has won me over completely with their new format slabs.

I used to be a pro-PCGS slab guy, but I have to say, now I greatly prefer the NGC slabs (they make the PCGS slabs look positively archaic).

Also I get the impression that there are more counterfeit PCGS slabs and coins around -- I would think that an NGC slab would be harder to counterfeit since it's more complicated.

My only complaint with the new NGC slab is a tiny bit of the rim and coin is obscurred by the prongs, which makes making a clean (complete) photo of the coin in the slab difficult. This certainly is a bigger problem on very small coins, as a larger percentage of the coin is obscurred in that case.

Just curious, how do most of you guys vote on this subject? Do you prefer PCGS or NGC slabs? And how do you like the newer NGC modifications?

I recently saw this promotion and learned a few things about the new slabs. Just thought I would share.

NGC_Slab_Ad_Sml.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. WingedLiberty

By the way, in case any newbie that reads this thread hasn't seen a PCGS slab, this is their newest iteration -- called "PCGS Secure" I believe. Just wanted to show that for comparitive purposes.

PCGS.jpg

4. Panzerslayer

Panzerslayer New Member

My girlfriend saw one of my NGC pronged slabs and thought it was a part from the new bookshelf I was putting together. She thought it was some bracket where you had to punch out the middle. Then she realized it was a coin. Finally she saw the NGC logo and said "ew!"

She made the comment it may have been cool if the slab and prongs were clear plastic instead of solid white. That would give it a kind of floating effect

Personally I look at the coin and not the holder

5. kidkayt

kidkayt Senior Member