NGC Now certifies cancelled or defaced dies!

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by 1916D10C, Dec 12, 2018.

1. 1916D10C

1916D10C Key Date Mercs are Life! 1916-D/1921-D/1921

heavycam.monstervam and Paul M. like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

These guys will entomb almost anything in plastic. What's next?

4. 1916D10C

But it's directly Numismatically related. I see nothing wrong with it.

Paul M. likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I think that is very cool!
    Thanks for sharing!

JCro57, Paul M. and 1916D10C like this.
  6. heavycam.monstervam

heavycam.monstervam Outlaw Trucker & Coin Hillbilly

From slapping the PL designation on ANY deserving coin. To the game changing star designation..... Theyve always been the cutting edge, honest, reliable, leader in the industry !!!
    Not surprising at all imo.

Paul M. and 1916D10C like this.
  7. atcarroll

atcarroll Well-Known Member

nails

Santinidollar and Kentucky like this.
  8. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

The started it for Fred Weinberg as he stated publicly for his 800+ that he submitted to them. I don't have an issue with it and can see the value to some extent

The pricing is a little strange

9. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

10. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Why in the blazes do we need these things encased in plastic? This seems absolutely ridiculous to me.

If the mint sold it, it will come with a COA that is perfectly acceptable to me. If the mint didn't sell it, there are hallmarks to identify a genuine die.

And Fred Weinberg's quote in that article seems to be even more pandering - he could put a die in a plastic bag and put his own sticker on it, and any potential buyer would accept his word based on his reputation. He is the last person on earth that needs a crazy plastic box.

1916D10C likes this.