NGC no grade?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by joecoincollect, Apr 14, 2020.

Tags:
  1. joecoincollect

joecoincollect Well-Known Member

FEA87D1F-483A-4FDE-B967-8AEBFA73D942.jpeg Hello. I got this awesome Byzantine (or is it, Romaioi?) coin in an NGC holder. I might have spent too much but i loved the color, design, size, and high grade of coin. I’m fairly new to ancients but it has no problem that I can discern, so I’m wondering why it’s missing a grade. I’ve seen others like mine w/out a grade, and sometimes they have “smoothing” or some other problem to the right in italics. My guess is that it’s an earlier holder, or perhaps a lower tier like economy service? Do you know?

galba68, Paul M. and Deacon Ray like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. juslystn

juslystn Lets argue

:hungover: Well that is a bummer....anonymous issue eh....that would eat me alive not knowing the specific reason.

Deacon Ray likes this.
  4. Deacon Ray

Deacon Ray Artist & Historian Supporter

Greetings @joecoincollect and welcome to the Ancients Forum. I’m sure that your coin is authentic but it most likely has some issues such as, overcleaning, smoothing, artificial patina or all of those. NGC used to have a policy whereby they would return such a coin to you un-slabbed and in a coin flip (body bagged). They apparently have modified those rules a bit. Don’t get discouraged! There are some excellent dealers in Byzantine coins at reasonable prices.

This link will shed more light on your question.
    https://www.ngccoin.com/news/article/2854/no-grades/

I’ve emailed some links to you. Perhaps other members can do the same.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2020
  5. dougsmit

dougsmit Member