New to the hobby and looking for some advice.

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by JFRTM, Jun 7, 2021.

1. JFRTM

JFRTM New Member

Hi all,

My first post here. I am new to the hobby and looking for some advice to point me in the right direction. I've decided that my focus will be on world coins as I like variety in design. I guess I am not the one to limit myself to one country and then collect a series of years of one coin. 'World coins' however is a broad term so I tried to narrow it down and have some basic ideas:

* Coins by design features like a hole in the middle, birds only, plants only etc.
    * European coins of the interbellum 1919-1938.
    * European post-war, pre-euro coins 1946-2001
    * World coins for my year of birth 1979.
    * 21st century European coins but non-euro.
    * eBay surprise coins. Just buy what is available and what I like.

What do you guys think of the above? And do you have better suggestions? What strategy did you start out with?

Last but not least I am 42 year old Dutch guy looking for fun. Good quality circulation coins that can be had for an honest price will do. I am not in it with an idea of reselling later to make money nor am I one that cares a whole lot about high grade stuff. If it looks pleasing to eye, that is good enough for me.

Thanks for reading!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

Welcome to CT.

4. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Welcome to CT. If you do not have one, get a copy of the Standard Catalogue of World Coins. Great info and photos by Country. Have fun

Insider and Inspector43 like this.
  5. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Welcome to CT. There is no set way to collect, and many of us here lack focus. :)

6. J.T. Parker

J.T. Parker Well-Known Member

I suggest you pick one area of collecting and work within those perimeters.