New to Site, Excited. First Post is one I found in Collection. An 1886 (o) Morgan Silver Dollar

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by tsegreti, May 14, 2017.

1. tsegreti

tsegreti New Member

I know at the right quality this can be a highly valuable coin. I am new to this and don't fully understand the process. Any input is highly appreciated!
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tsegreti

tsegreti New Member

I also have the same year Morgan silver dollar in better condition without the (o) mark.

4. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Hey, welcome. Worn Morgans are usually worth only around melt unless it is a rare date. Afraid I don't know what the "magic" dates are, but I'm sure someone will come along and inform you.

tsegreti likes this.
  5. tsegreti

tsegreti New Member

Thanks for the reply. Yea I thought as much. I think this is a good date just wish it was in better condition. Although don't we all haha

6. Kentucky

Looking in my 2011 "Red Book" (A Guide Book Of United States Coins - R.S. Yeoman) an essential source for collecting American coins. Not necessarily for the price, since they only come out yearly, but for information and relative price or scarcity. The 86-O had 11,000,000 made and is pretty much base price for silver dollars until you get to the high grades. Get yourself a red book, you won't be sorry.

Pocket_change likes this.
  7. tsegreti

tsegreti New Member

Thanks! I assume that is readily available on like ebay. I gotta get me one of those

Nathan401 likes this.
  8. Kentucky

Yeah, e-bay would be a good place. Even if you get one a couple of years old, the information is still good, and, as I said, the prices are moderately useless anyway.

tsegreti likes this.
  9. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

First, welcome to the neighborhood @tsegreti !