New to Ancients

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by JAncient77, Jul 24, 2017.

1. JAncient77

JAncient77 Member

Hello, I'm very very new to ancients. One thing that I'm really confused about is figuring values of coins. I inhereted some coins that really sparked my interest and rather than selling I would like to expand on my newly acquired collection. I love coins that are not slabbed but I do now have some expensive slabbed MS, CH MS and even a couple GEM Mint State slabbed ancient coins. I have no idea how to value these especially the GEM Mint State ones. Is there a way to go about identifying value? Is there a ballpark of what percentage a gem mint state ancient should sell for compared to say an auctioned near ef coin being sold on CNG? Just looking for a general metric for identifying coin values (current ones and possible new acquisitions). I'm finding myself overwhelmed at how to research values. In addition if I purchase through CNG, ATLAS, VCOINS, are these three dealers I can somewhat count on not getting ripped off? I realize prices fluctuate and can be subjective but if I purchase a fixed priced item can I count on it being priced within a 25% fair market value? The history and artistic value are fascinating to me and I'm looking forward to diving into this new world!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Curtisimo

Curtisimo the Great(ish)

Welcome to the ancients forum @JAncient77! I hope you stick around and post some of your coins!

As far as values I look at CNG as my main source for current market value. As to what the grade on the slab is I would advise you to ignore it and use your eyes. In ancient collecting the slab will only garner you a premium with inexperienced collectors. You must learn to trust you eyes and compare the coin you are researching with coins you see have sold in the past and make reasonable assumptions from there.