New, need help identifying coins

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Andy Reynolds, Apr 30, 2020.

1. Andy Reynolds

Andy Reynolds New Member

I'm new to the coin collecting world and could use some help with figuring out what these coins are i inherited. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

The ancient coin was struck under Antonius Pius.

Inspector43 and Andy Reynolds like this.
  4. kevin McGonigal

kevin McGonigal Well-Known Member

Yes, that's Antoninus Pius, probably the denomination called an As and from about 140 AD. If your next question is, "what is it worth/" with that hole and the deep flan crack, not a whole lot. This assumes that it is a genuine ancient coin and not a recent copy.

Andy Reynolds likes this.
  5. Bradley Trotter

Bradley Trotter Well-Known Member

6. Andy Reynolds

Andy Reynolds New Member

No I don't care about value. Never going to be for sale. Just wanted to know what it was. Thank you

7. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

In my estimation, the AP is authentic

8. KIWITI

KIWITI Well-Known Member

I don´t think it is authentic, look at the crack al 7 o´clock. It looks as if it is made of lead or something weak, plus, chubby legends...almost like a WRL replica.

9. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

The Antoninus Pius as seems to have the reverse PIETAS AVG. Compare:
    https://www.acsearch.info/search.html?id=2765992

I do not claim to be able to tell genuine from fakes using photos but the 'problems' I see could be explained away on a genuine coin that has had a hard life.

10. Orange Julius

Orange Julius Well-Known Member

I can definitively answer this one...

It’s a cast fake. I have a nearly identical one that came in a lot of 14 other authentic coins.
    EA4439C6-FDE5-4A6F-956B-EAFA1DDA2AA8.jpeg