New Copy Stand for Photos

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Dave M, Feb 8, 2019.

1. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

I've been shooting coin photos off my tripod for a couple years, but recently picked up a new toy, a copy stand from Ray (rmpsrpms here on CT). It's going to be quite the setup I think, though I've only shot half a dozen coins on it at this point. He provided everything but the camera in this case, including the stand, camera adapter, bellows, lens, rail system, micrometer-adjustable base stand and lights. The $700 cost probably isn't for everyone, but for me it was worth it as I was pricing and figuring out how to build this kind of setup anyway.

CopyStandSetup.jpg

A huge advantage for me is being able to set this right on the desk next to me, instead of the bulky tripod setup I had. And the little focusing stand is really fantastic, I recommend that highly. Here's a 100% crop of a section about 2mm square.

IMG_0002-crop.jpg

Dave

... oops sorry about all these attached files. They're not different, just me not being able to attach things correctly :)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Excellent!

Chris

4. LaCointessa

LaCointessa Well-Known Member

5. JPeace$

JPeace$ Coinaholic

Very nice set-up.

6. robec

robec Junior Member

Nice compact setup and so easy to work with.

7. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

Yes, I think that's going to be a big factor in getting me to shoot coins as they come in. Drop it on, focus, shoot - a much easier process than what I had before. And I just did the math on the focusing stand, and unless I've got it wrong, this will adjust to 1 micron!

8. robec

robec Junior Member

Your biggest obstacle will be making sure there is enough room for the lights.

9. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac