New Ancient Coinage Website Preview

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Gil-galad, Nov 16, 2015.

1. Gil-galad

Gil-galad I AM SPARTACUS

I've said and have been working on a personal website for a year or more, mostly not working on but I have made a lot of progress in the last few days that I decided to have a preview. I also have a decent camera which gives me a little more motivation to work on my site.

The site is plain, fast and economical for bandwidth usage which may be ideal once I find a place that will host my site. I haven't decided where the site is going but I'm positive that I can find a place. This site has been hand coded by me using nothing more than Notepad and the specifications for HTML 4. I've never used HTML 4 before, so it is a good time to learn it. If you know the older specification for HTML, version 4 should be easy to learn.

I could have used one of the many free and paid for online website editing and hosting places, but decided not to. Because I wanted to learn HTML 4 and I just feel more comfortable coding a site by hand.

Image1.jpg

I am using a image snapshot because I don't have hosting yet and it's all files on my hard drive somewhere. This is the index and starting point, with a easy to use navbar to the left. The Plautilla coin displayed here is one of six in a random image generator JavaScript.

Picking a name for a website doesn't seen easy for me. I decided to go for the Ancient Whitesheet for the time being. Always open to suggestions for a name but I may stick to what I have now. Who knows.

Image3.jpg

This is of course a links page which included links to a lot of websites. Also sections for YouTube videos, forum sites and reference site links, and my own photo gallery sites.

Image2.jpg