Need UK 10 with Jane Austen

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by kaparthy, Apr 18, 2020.

1. kaparthy

kaparthy Well-Known Member

I am not a big collector, but I am a writer; and I have some world banknotes with authors and related subjects. (Bulgaria and Iceland had printing presses.) I want to add the UK tenner. In fact, I could buy several and give them to women I know. (Actually, that sounds bad, somehow ...). Anyway, my question here is: Where do you recommend that I buy from them from?

austen graphic arts princeton 2.png
    (Graphic Arts. Princeton U.)

I would never go to eBay unless that store were also members of the ANA at the very least, if not also IBNS, PNG, and IAPN to boot.

I looked at the trade and buy forums here. I read GD's warning. But, of course, I also see people there whom I have known here for years; and anyone who creates problems usually does not stick around to chat about coins. So, I'm pretty much OK with another regular poster.

My inclination is to query someone like Lynn Knight, but I hate to bother a major firm with a minor purchase. I figure five uncirculated tenners for like US$100.

Anyway... just asking...
    Thanks.
    Mike M.

George McClellan likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. lettow

lettow Senior Member

Pam West. She is a dealer in the UK and and IBNS member.

kaparthy likes this.
  4. ewomack

ewomack 魚の下着

You can also search MA-Shops. I see at least one for sale there.

kaparthy likes this.
  5. NOS

NOS Former Coin Hoarder

You can go to Pam West as lettow suggests or, since this is the latest design, you can very easily go to your nearest bank. Many banks keep a shoe box or satchel full of foreign currency on hand at all times.

Often times the currency is uncirculated or nearly uncirculated. Ask the teller to pull out the nicest examples for you to look at and choose what you want accordingly.