Need ID Help Plz - & Help w/Bronze Disease!! eeeek

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Xodus, Apr 30, 2021.

1. Xodus

Xodus Well-Known Member

Hey Guys! Life has been so busy I haven't had much time to enjoy my coins. However, I found a few moments today and thought I'd try and get some help with identifying this coin.

I'm no expert, but I believe it has active bronze disease. I am wondering if there is a simple solution - ie, something I can buy and dip it in?

It looks like the coin is from the 1st or 2nd century. Confronting bust, and the bigger bust (maybe Augustus?). I believe on the 5 o clock to noon position it may read AVGVS CAESAR, but I could be wrong (usually the case). Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

IMG_20210430_172204879.jpg IMG_20210430_172221363.jpg

galba68, paschka, ominus1 and 2 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Ryro

Ryro Trying to remove supporter status

You need to start by neutralizing it ASAP. Get that coin in distilled water!

DonnaML, John Conduitt and Xodus like this.
  4. Xodus

Xodus Well-Known Member

Okay, done! Thanks :)

Ryro likes this.
  5. ominus1

ominus1 Well-Known Member

:eek:..glad i have BadThads verdi-care....wish you had some too

Ryro likes this.
  6. Finn235

Finn235 Well-Known Member

Agreed - better treat that ASAP!

As for ID, perhaps Tiberius from Carthago Nova with presumptive heirs? He minted for both Germanicus & Drusus, and Germanicus' sons Nero & Drusus
    Tiberius with Nero and Drusus Caesars Carthago Nova.jpg

Bing, paschka, Xodus and 2 others like this.
  7. gsimonel

gsimonel Well-Known Member

It is important, but also easy, to treat a coin with bronze disease. Here is what I wrote in an earlier thread:

Buy a gallon of DW