Need help with 1955 Wheat head

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Overbayj31, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Overbayj31

Overbayj31 New Member

Hi so i baught some coin rolls a couple of days ago and I happened upon a 1955 D bronze (I believe) Wheat Head. I also believe it is a double die along with a lamination error. I'm not positive but there is something else wrong with it but I can't find any info so I was wondering if ya'll could give me some insight on this coin. Thank you

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

First, welcome to the forum. Looks like a blob of solder on the reverse, I also see some environmental damage. Where do you see the doubling?

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is called a Wheat Back Cent.. not Wheat head and yes they were made of Bronze.

I see circulation wear and probably a thin layer of dried adhesive on the Obverse and solder on the Reverse

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  5. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

We sometimes see solder on penny's. Any idea what it would have been used for?

6. wxcoin

wxcoin Getting no respect since I was a baby

I see doubling on the date and MM. Looks like machine doubling to me.

7. WDF

WDF Its all about history

Fuse box coin. Back in the mid sixties my dad would put a penny in the glass fuse receptacle before inserting the new fuse. Some of them would have a solder spot like the op's when removed.

Clawcoins and SchwaVB57 like this.
  8. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

Well, I remember those days too and I thought of that. But, most of them I saw had and arc strike on them. 1955 would be a good range for that. Thanks.

9. Overbayj31

Overbayj31 New Member