Need help identifying old German Coin

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Gregg702, Feb 11, 2019.

1. Gregg702

Gregg702 Active Member

I think it is from the 18th or 19th century. It is about the same size around as a silver dollar, and weighs 16.2g.

IMG_1924.JPG

IMG_1925.JPG

Thanks for any help.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
    Bayern, longshot and Noah Finney like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

It reminds me a lot of an Austrian coin but it's not one I can find. Perhaps @spirityoda can find it in his books. Also, fyi, your bottom picture needs to be rotate 180 degrees to be properly oriented.

4. Gregg702

Gregg702 Active Member

Thanks, I will edit it now.

5. SorenCoins

SorenCoins Well-Known Member

I agree. It somewhat looks like some Austrian coins I've seen from the era, but I'm no expert.

6. willieboyd2

willieboyd2 First Class Poster

It looks like a copper version of a German States silver coin of Jever or Emden of 28 stuber.

The reverse shield doesn't exactly match the shield on the silver coins.

:)

7. Bayern

Bayern Active Member

Yes, here is the Jever coin as referenced by willieboyd2 (well circulated, from my collection) ~ 9FA9AD18-F7EB-4088-A948-F7BF6DBBFE44.jpeg
    BA92026D-6CD1-4B2D-86D5-E38DD28348DF.jpeg Very similar overall, but clearly different shield devices and metal as mentioned in the previous post. The coin in question could also be a 28 schilling denomination, although this too should not be in copper~and it appears that I can see the name ‘IOHAN’ (Johann), but the rest is difficult to make out. I am thinking it could be a contemporary counterfeit, also.

8. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

German States/Jever ND(1649-51) KM#40 , 28 Stuber (Gulden) denomination. silver,
    grade/value from 2003 17th century World coin catalog.
    VG-$25.00 F-$50.00 VF-$110 XF-$175
    not sure what your coins grade is ???

Bayern and chrisild like this.
  9. spirityoda