Need Help Grading

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Ollyoccia, May 25, 2016.

1. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

I am a novice at the hobby and fell in love with the below coin and purchased it. Wanted to get some more expert opinions on the grade. I know SEGS is a second tier grader so wanted to get some more expert opinions on the grade of the coin than my own since I am a novice. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated?....Thanks

Attached Files:

dwhiz and chridular like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

You won't hear this often - that coin gets

gdcac.jpg

tmeyer, Cheech9712, coinzip and 9 others like this.
  4. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

What the heck does that mean?

5. zachfromnj

zachfromnj Junior Member

CAC puts stickers on coins to either reinforce the grade which is a green sticker or they give a gold sticker for coins that probably should be a grade higher. GDJMSP puts his seal of approval which is why his avatar is on the green sticker.

Fantastic coin pickup

Spark1951 likes this.
  6. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

Thank you:)

7. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

You're new here, so obviously you don't understand. But that is, shall we say, my seal of approval. In other words the coin is graded correctly.

8. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

lol thanks so much I had no idea that is a great system!!!!

9. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

Thanks so much someone just explained below how the green sticker and gold stickers work:)

10. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

SEGS is a second teir service, but they do a pretty good job with non modern coins. I would say they got this one right. Nice pickup.

Stevearino likes this.
  11. Ollyoccia

Ollyoccia Member

Thank You:)

12. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

What it means is Frank aka "Treasure hunt " Will most probably be making you an offer for that Green Sticker!
    As you see Frank has this envy thing about Doug Aka " GDJMSP "