Need advice with an 1880-O Morgan

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Dr. Fosgate, Feb 8, 2019.

1. Dr. Fosgate

Dr. Fosgate Member

I am new to the forum, but have been reading threads for a month now. I started collecting coins January 1st of this year as a new hobby to explore. Even my wife has gotten in on it, and we have purchased several books, plus read pages and pages online. Her and I both guess coin grades, then come to an agreement, and this has made purchases fun for the both of us.

I have hit a point where I have a coin I don't know if I should send out to be graded or not. I recently sent 10 coins to ICG for grading, and half came back cleaned. I am trying to avoid that with this one. I am also new to coin photography (and find it as much fun as coin collecting), so please feel free to be critical of my photos. I enjoy learning, and have a long road to go.

So, here are some photos of the coin in question. I tried some different lighting to try to highlight flaws...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Shrews1994 and steve.e like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Welcome to the neighborhood!

I don't see any luster on the coin from your photos. For me, this would indicate that the coin has been harshly cleaned. Maybe it is due to the way you have illuminated the subject. I don't know. So, why don't you start by describing your lighting set-up.

Since you are becoming interested in the photography aspect of numismatics, you might want to purchase the book, "Numismatic Photography" by Mark Goodman.

Chris

Numismatic-Photography.jpg

ldhair likes this.
  4. Dr. Fosgate

Dr. Fosgate Member

Thank you for the response.