Mystery Error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Electron John, Jan 13, 2017.

1. Electron John

Electron John Active Member

Anyone want to guess what this is? Probably too easy for you guys but lets see. Image was taken on a scanning electron microscope (sorry no color when using electrons) at 20x. Mystery Error.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Off center strike, and as always, a very interesting look at one. Kudos again!

Edited to add: cent.

Garlicus likes this.
  4. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

Oops.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
  5. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Have any counterfeits or altered surfaces you care to image?

6. Electron John

Good idea! I have a fake 1914D cent that should be interesting. Maybe next week...

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

8. Oldrdawg

Oldrdawg Active Member

9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Now there is...better! :)
    zcamera-20170113_191215.jpg
    I want to share this image that belongs to Electron John

10. Electron John

Nice coloring Paddyman98! But that makes it too easy to guess! :)

1981 off center Lincoln cent is correct by the way. That is about as off center as it can get and still see the date. At least that is my most off center cent with date.

By the way, note the finger oils on the edge of the coin which show up a darker stains. The oil is darker because it is less dense then the copper and bounces fewer electrons off which results in a darker pixel at oil covered spots. Should have rinsed with acetone before taking this picture but at least it shows that I was handling the coin correctly, by the edges. Probably should use gloves though...

Amos 811 likes this.
  11. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

Looks now like the surface of the moon. Those are tiny craters from tiny meteorites.

Electron John likes this.