My World Coin Collection

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by dave_in_delaware, Oct 21, 2016.

1. dave_in_delaware

dave_in_delaware Active Member

Well, I'm (finally) finished cataloging my world coins! I hope it's OK to post my collection here, because I wanted to share it with everyone. :) I used Numista as my "go-to" reference website. Please forgive me for any errors or mis-categorizing any coins, as I'm totally new to this.

I haven't taken any photos yet. That will come next, and only of the more interesting ones (as well as ones I have questions on). Will post those here in my thread as they get finished.

The attached pdf is just an Excel list that I put together of all my coins, with each page being a different country.

Some statistics:

382 coins total
    378 inherited from my grandfather
    3 received as change recently
    1 received as a gift from my wife

2003 is the newest coin
    1919 is the oldest coin

25 Countries represented (does not include any USA)

I have questions about a few, but they'll be separate threads.

All of these coins (well, except for 4) were kept in a plastic jar, in a toolbox, in the basement of my grandparents' house. Two labels made of multiple rows of masking tape written in ink by my grandfather were on the jar and lid.

The lid reads:
    Coins from
    around the world
    for D. P. Mooney
    Keep

And the side of the jar reads:
    8-12-83
    Coins from all
    over the world
    for D. P. Mooney
    Keep
    Do not spend
    maybe valueable
    When he grows up
    give to him after I am not here

I received the jar from my grandmother after my grandfather passed away from cancer in 1989. I have looked at a few coins in the past but never "got into" all of it until now.

Hope you enjoyed looking at my collection (although it's "text-only" for now). Thanks for looking. Photos to follow.

Electron John and jj00 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. dave_in_delaware

Here's the file: