My type set -- the journey and the goal

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by sshafer11, Aug 19, 2014.

1. sshafer11

sshafer11 Head Research Assistant - Coin Show Radio

First of all I just want to mention that the reason I'm posting this is because one of the other members @geekpryde inspired me to do so with his thread about his CAC type set.

Just a short introduction: I'm fairly new to cointalk and I'm a relatively new collector. I started about 4 years ago when I found a cache of silver coins my dad had hoarded when he worked at a bank back in the 60's, it kind of started the bug in me. I started coin roll hunting like crazy and eventually purchased an AG 1837 Capped Bust Half which I consider my official entry into the hobby. About a year ago I decided I wanted to pursue a type set because there are just too many coins I like to collect just a series so I started a Dansco 7070.

I had a blast with the 7070 for a little while but I eventually hit a brick wall with it when I realized it was somewhat counterproductive (in my opinion) to crack slabs to put nice coins in the holes which especially becomes an issue once you consider problem free coins over $100. I also didn't like that the Dansco book was specific to only certain types of coins, including some I didn't care for.

So I sold almost all of my coins and began my current and hopefully final set which is a slabs only set of type coins I enjoy but not every type coin made. It has been about 6 months now and it has been the most fun I've had with the hobby yet. I have added my set to the NGC custom registry sets and I'd be glad to receive any feedback about it. Obviously a long way to go but I hope to someday sell it with pride and profits.

I call it the Greenhornet type set because one of my local coin dealers calls me that due to my Greenhorn status in the hobby. Thank you for looking!

https://coins.www.collectors-society.com/wcm/CoinCustomSetView.aspx?s=16335

Last edited: Aug 20, 2014