My First Postumus - I Didn't Know They Made 'em in Silver

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Marsyas Mike, Oct 19, 2017.

1. Marsyas Mike

Marsyas Mike Well-Known Member

I'll admit it - for years I was a snob about the Gallic Kingdom...all those crumby bronze radiates. Given my bottom-feeding habits, there's just no excuse. But I wanted a Postumus because I really like some of his portraits.

So today in the mail I just got my first Postumus and I will admit I was wrong. I am smitten - so much better than "official" stuff coming out of Rome. What surprised me is that it appears to be pretty good silver (nice color and 3.20 grams). And the workmanship is just wonderful, I think. A well-spent $15, I think.

I'm working on attributing it - I think it is either RIC 86 (Cologne) or RIC 326 (Trier). Since I'm new to Postumus, I am struggling a bit (I am not complaining - this is fun).

I know there's been several Postumus threads here over the years, but I am ready to be dazzled by your examples. Especially, lets see those silvery ones?

Postumus SALVS (1).JPG

Postumus SALVS (2).JPG

Cucumbor, old49er, Aethelred and 20 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

Many of his early coins are silver.

He was a handsome fella too.

[​IMG]
    Postumus (260 - 269 A.D.)
    AR Antoninianus
    O: IMP C POSTVMVS P F AVG, Radiate, draped, and cuirassed bust right.
    R: FIDES EXERCITVS Four military standards, hand on top of second, eagle on third.
    Lugdunum (Lyon) mint. Struck 266 A.D.
    3.8g
    20mm
    RIC V 303; Cunetio 2432; Elmer 417; RSC 65

4. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper