My first cast chinese

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Muhammad Niazi, Oct 9, 2021.

1. Muhammad Niazi

Muhammad Niazi Well-Known Member

I have no prior experience with chinese cast hole coins or how to identify them, so I am going to rely on seeking ID help from you guys.

I had my sister take the pictures, as im in university in another city.
    IMG-20211008-WA0056~2.jpg IMG-20211008-WA0055.jpg

Theodosius, +VGO.DVCKS, Ryro and 8 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Andres2

Andres2 Well-Known Member

Looks like a cash coin from the Tang dynasty:

P1210743bb (6).jpg

Theodosius, +VGO.DVCKS, Ryro and 5 others like this.
  4. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

This is a Kai Yuan (Hartill 14) Tang Dynasty as Andres2 said but yours is a different minor variation (there are many) of which I am no student. Your reverse image needs to be rotated 1/4 turn counterclockwise placing the 'nail mark' (Hartill reverse variety e, page 106) at the bottom. Your coin also differs from his in the Yuan (bottom character). His has the raised left shoulder while yours strikes me as more 'running'. I only have the plain Hartill 14.1 and know nothing about the fine points of ID. They were made in several mints over a period of almost 300 years. We expect many variations.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaiyuan_Tongbao
    ch14.1.jpg

5. sand

sand Well-Known Member

Hello @Muhammad Niazi
    Your coin has a nice blue-green patina, on the obverse.
    The characters on your coin, resemble Kai Yuan Tong Bao, although I'm not 100% certain. The upper character resembles Kai. The lower character resembles Yuan. The right character resembles Tong. The left character resembles Bao.
    There are 2 possibilities, that your coin could be, as far as I know :
    1. It looks similar to a Chinese 1 cash coin, from the Tang Dynasty, from 618 AD to 907 AD.