My first ancient: Marcus Aurelius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by papersplz, Feb 13, 2018.

1. papersplz

papersplz Member

I've been lurking a couple months but this is my first time posting anything.

I got interested in the general hobby of coin and currency collecting last year. While visiting with my girlfriend's family, I heard her dad saying something about waiting on a coin book in the mail. That caught my interest and we struck up a conversation. He asked would I be interested in seeing some of his collection and I said I would even though I could see some other people at the table slouching back in their chairs as if to say, "not again, Dad". A few minutes later he was pulling out the boxes and binders and albums and I began to realize that coins were a very big deal to him, obviously the work of many years. I was stunned at the beauty and variety of American coins including a very large number of designs I had never seen before.

Afterwards I was kind of shy about letting anyone know how excited I was by the idea of starting my own collection. I began doing research online in earnest, looking at shops, eBay, vcoins, PCGS price charts, etc. Watching youtube videos. Reading this forum and others. I bought my first few books on American coins and currency and identified potential targets, then moved on to studying the market for some pieces I felt most interested in.