My collar strike ministry.

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by usmc60, Nov 23, 2017.

1. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Ellis Island 2017 P as you can see it has a collar strike, which is not unusual because it seems a lot of these Ellis Island p that I have all have some form of Collar straight.
    I will say a good majority.

My ministry is if the excess reeding material is pushed up by the pressure of the die pushing the planchet into the collar. Thus producing the excess material
    if you notice in the photos the collar strike cuts through the debris.
    How the Excess debris get there before the collar strike. If the planchet is under extreme pressure A maximum pressure for quarters is 342 standard tons. I would really like to learn how this happens. USMC60 csm-1.jpg csm-2.jpg csm-3.jpg

Last edited: Nov 23, 2017
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Errr what? o_O
    What do you mean by Ministry?

4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Where did you get 342 tones?

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

What does excess debris have to do with a collar strike?

6. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

Maximum-Work-Hub-Tonnages-510x734.jpg

7. usmc60

usmc60 SEMPER FI

What I'm trying to say is most of the excess metal goes up between the collar and die.
    The collar usually acts like a dam preventing the excess from going on the back side of this color straight.
    What I'm asking is how the collar strike can occur after the excess metal is over the edge before the strike. Since this is supposed to all be happening under extreme pressure. I can see how the three collar strikes can occur. Here is a good link.
    Collar strike
    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...coin-errors/&usg=AOvVaw3BquDV6l71kGZxnR94Hfuf

I'm just trying to see how this particular strike occurred. USMC60

8. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter