My big poster of world overdate diagnostics!

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by KurtS, Oct 12, 2015.

1. KurtS

KurtS Die variety collector

I specialize in overdates, and have assembled a poster of images that show a few of the most common diagnostics for overdates. In other words, where are you most likely to see the "7" poking out from beneath an "8"? This poster shows some of the most likely date combination--many more exist. With a couple of exceptions, these are all in my collection.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 12, 2015
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice poster! I have a question. Is the number that is an overdate always the next number in its sequence? so 2 over 1, 3 over 2, 4 over 3 etc..
    I should know this but I don't :(
    So can there be an 4 over 2 or an 8 over 6?

swamp yankee and KurtS like this.
  4. KurtS

Thanks! Yes--an overdate just means a die from a previous year was reused and the new date added--it can be any combination of numbers, such as my profile pic: 9/4. And, sometimes there can even be several dates impressed in the die, such as 1965/4/3--I hope to get that one soon! :)

Last edited: Oct 12, 2015
  5. stldanceartist

stldanceartist Minister of Silly Walks

That 7/6 looks awfully familiar :)

6. KurtS

Oh yeah--that's your coin! I hope you don't mind me using the picture--it's a great example. :)

7. stldanceartist

stldanceartist Minister of Silly Walks

Don't mind at all. Happy my coin gets its 15 minutes lol

8. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor