My Ancient Coin Collection : Version 1 : Group Photos : Part 2 : Roman

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by sand, Oct 8, 2021.

1. sand

sand Well-Known Member

Here are my ancient Roman coins. These coins span a history of over 700 years, from 211 BC to 498 AD. There are ancient Roman coins, that are way earlier than 211 BC, but I don't have any of those, yet. It's interesting to think about, how people's lives changed, during that 700 years, including the upper class, the middle class, and the lower class. I've been collecting ancient coins for 3 years, and US coins since childhood. It's been a wild and crazy 3 years. Thank you CoinTalk, for teaching me so much, about ancient coins. And for the fun times, I've had, talking with fellow ancient coin collectors, about coins, and everything else under the sun. If you feel like it, you could post your favorite ancient Roman coin, that you own, and tell why it is your favorite. Or whatever else is relevant.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Coin 1 : Anonymous AE As. 211 BC To 206 BC. Rome Mint. Sear 627. 32.0 mm. 36.69 grams. Obverse Janus With "I" Above. Reverse Ship's Prow With "I" Above.
    Coin 2 : Anonymous AE Semis. 211 BC To 206 BC. Rome Mint. Sear 766. 27 mm. 16.88 grams. Obverse Saturn With S Left. Reverse Ship's Prow With S Above.
    Coin 3 : L. Caecilius Metellus Diadematus AR Denarius. 128 BC. Rome Mint. Sear 138. Crawford 262/1. 18 mm. 3.80 grams. Obverse Roma Wearing Helmet. Reverse Pax Driving Biga With Elephant's Head With Bell Attached Below.
    Coin 4 : L. Flaminius Cilo AR Denarius. 109 BC To 108 BC. Rome Mint. Sear 179. Crawford 302/1. 20 mm. 3.51 grams. Obverse Roma Wearing Helmet. Reverse Victory Driving Biga With Legend "L FLAMINI" Below.
    Coin 5 : Augustus AE. Circa 25 BC. Uncertain Mint Possibly Ephesus. RIC 486. 23 mm. 11.24 grams. Obverse Augustus With Legend CAESAR On Left. Reverse Legend AVGVSTVS Within Wreath.