MS 65 Morgans

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Bman33, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

Hi all, I am wanting to get a nice Morgan Silver Dollar in particular an 1885CC in MS65. I am new to the hobby as I have only been collecting for a year and have a very humble collection. I Want my coin to be PCGS or NGC graded. I started looking at a lot of Graded Morgans at shops and shows and I have noticed on MS65's there can still be a lot of Chatter on the cheek and fields. Am I looking at poorly graded coins or is this common even in a MS65? The only thing I can think of is to keep looking at Morgan's.

SharonG likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

A clarifying question: how was the luster on the coins you saw? I've seen quite a few coins with amazing luster get 65 despite cheek chatter.

4. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

Good question, the one I saw in person was the 1885CC MS65 with GSA Hoard case (PCGS). The luster was beautiful, I just didn't like the chatter though. I posted it in another thread when I was at the show looking at it. Everyone here said to pass because of cheek chatter and it was too baggy. But once again the luster was amazing.

Seattlite86 likes this.
  5. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I recall that one. Yes, that's exactly why people say "buy the coin, not the slab." Especially in CC Morgans, if you're going to pay MS65 price, make sure you get a surefire MS65 coin :)

Bman33 likes this.
  6. Bman33

Bman33 Well-Known Member

That's the plan. I will still have to justify to my fiance why I bought a coin over $1,000.00 too. Does anyone here get heat from your significant others for buying high dollar coins?

Seattlite86 likes this.
  7. longshot

longshot Enthusiast Supporter