Most of these Penny's Look Fake

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Chris Winkler, Mar 27, 2022.

1. Chris Winkler

Chris Winkler Well-Known Member

Is it me, or are most of the Indian Head Penny's this guy sells not look like copper? All of the Hobo Nickels are newer unmarked copies, and looking at all the coins, the color just does not look right on most. Also 105x 1931-S Buffalso nickels?????

With almost 39,000, who has done business with him?
    https://www.ebay.com/sch/fairviewcoins/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_ipg=&_from=

Heavymetal likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Most of these Penny's Look Fake
    No they don't. Just low end coins and poor imaging.

Kasia, Muzyck and Hoky77 like this.
  4. Chris Winkler

While I know the feeling on difficulty to photo coins, what about 105x 1931-S Buffalo nickels. A statistic that is quite questionable.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Penny - Singular
    Pennies - Plural

These are Penny's friends...
    Capture+_2022-03-28-05-25-18.png

6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I don't see anything questionable about the seller. He has 7200 coins listed and sells about 900 coins per month.

7. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

8. ifthevamzarockin

ifthevamzarockin Well-Known Member

9. KBBPLL

KBBPLL Well-Known Member

I have purchased from him. Nothing suspicious in my experience. We had a short email exchange about three years ago and I recall him saying he gets coins "wholesale", presumably buys large lots and doles them out.

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  10. Dave Waterstraat

Dave Waterstraat Well-Known Member

11. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

Don't know about anyone else, but that link takes me to his entire eBay listings. The first two full pages are 97% Mercury dimes. I'm not going to take the time to find the pennies you are referring to.

KBBPLL likes this.