More people should do this

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Numismat, Jan 28, 2016.

1. Numismat

Numismat World coin enthusiast

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

With a $10K price tag? Really?

Chris

4. Numismat

It's obviously not meant to be purchased

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. kaosleeroy108

kaosleeroy108 The Mahayana Tea Shop & hobby center

OK thanks for the red flag warnings.. This is why u do not buy raw coins

6. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

o_O.. There are fake slabbed coins out there also. You need to know what to look for before you purchase.

Numismat and aubade21 like this.
  8. Quant.Geek

Quant.Geek Well-Known Member

And there are legitimate slabs that have fake coins in them as well :rolleyes:. For instance, the following coin was graded by NGC, but it is a known fake. The slab is not fake though, so clearly a mistake by NGC...

20110701_1840GoaRupeeLabel.jpg

20110701_1840GoaRupeeObv.jpg

Numismat likes this.
  9. kaosleeroy108

I agree and I say go do research on the coins , learn to grade , determine counterfeit s, and examine coins yourself

paddyman98 likes this.
  10. kaosleeroy108

Ngc owes you$$$%

11. Quant.Geek

It is not my coin, but this is an example of the sloppiness of NGC. This is similar to the various credit agencies who rated various mortgages and securities that they didn't understand during the credit crisis. Simply, don't grade coins that you are not familiar with...

Insider and kaosleeroy108 like this.
  12. Numismat

One of several types of high quality fakes of Portuguese-India silver coins that have come on the market in the past 4-5 years.

13. kaosleeroy108

I agree

14. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Please let me defend the current TPGS ... Just a little.