modern mint mark "SMS"

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by mac266, Aug 27, 2015.

1. mac266

mac266 Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I'm putting together year sets for my two boys; each will get an NGC certified coin of every coin in their birth year. Yes, I know it's not a worthwhile investment to have these things certified, but I don't really care about that. This is something for them. Someday, when they grow older, they may not take an interest in coins like me, but they'll remember that I did this for them.

Anyway, I read the invoice from a shipment of coins for my 2006 boy. All of the mintmarks were listed as "P" or "D" but they all had "SMS" listed after them. What does that mean?

Oh, both nickels were graded with 6 full steps!

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Special Mint Set

4. mac266

mac266 Well-Known Member

Care to elaborate? What does that mean?

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. paddyman98

You say that your son was born 2006? So it's a mystery to me then why it states SMS since the definition is as follows -

Question:
    What Is a Special Mint Set?
    Answer:
    A Special Mint Set, often called an SMS, is a set of coins issued by the U.S. Mint from 1965 to 1967. These coins are characterized by a better than average strike, since they were struck on higher-tonnage coin presses than circulation-quality coins, but they were not struck as Proofs. SMS coins do not have any Mint marks.
    Special Mint Sets consist of one coin of each circulating type in the year it was issued: Cent, Nickel, Dime, Quarter-Dollar, and Half-Dollar. The coins were sealed in special packaging. In 1965, a clear vinyl plastic called "pliofilm" was used; in 1966 and 1967, the coins were placed into plastic cases. Both types sold for $4.00 per set.

6. JPeace$

JPeace$ Coinaholic