Modern Commemorative Silver $1 Proofs, things I THINK I have learned, but please set me straight...

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom, Sep 14, 2017.

1. SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom

SilverWilliesCoinsdotcom Well-Known Member

I've been a fiercely dedicated casual on and off coin collector for over 50 years. I'm not a novice, newbie, nor an expert. And I know there's always something new to learn.

About a year or two ago I started buying up a bunch of USMINT Commemorative Silver Dollars. Modern, 1983 and up. I like silver dollars, I was burnt out on Morgans, the fuzzy blue cases were cheaper than a pet, I don't know why, but I now have about 60 of them, and they're basically worth melt from what I discover, except for a few. No biggie.

At first I was amazed at the quality of the technology, and how it had improved, of the modern mirror like proof coins. I still am. Stunning. I think I have realized that most of these would grade at PR69 or PR70, if not all. True or not?

Also, from everything I read in here and elsewhere, you might as well flip a coin to determine between 69 and 70 when using mere mortal eyesight and magnification tools. Is that also true?

My question then, is, why bother? The market for these seems extremely limited, and mainly consists of one off birthday buyers and avid set collectors, the general audience for them appears to be near zilch. Never found in circulation, come to think of it, I have never even touched one directly, strictly through a capsule, it's a most sterile experience of any in US coin collecting.

What I plan to do is just sell off my common dupes for melt or above in the capsules only, then get what I can for the cases and boxes and COAs maybe on eBay, then use that money to find something more real and exciting to my dull existence.