Missouri quarter reverse looks like nickel...

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by dollar, Mar 17, 2017.

1. dollar

dollar Junior Member

The luster or sheen is gone from the reverse of this quarter. The obverse is the same as the reverse (no luster)... the rim looks no different than other quarter rims. My question is, was there a step at the mint that missed putting the luster on? missouriqtrrev.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I don't think so.
    Your Quarter was minted in 2003.. something occurred between then and now for that non luster appearance. Most likely Environmental Damage.

Paul M. and dollar like this.
  4. dollar

dollar Junior Member

Thank you paddyman98... I have had this quarter myself since 2003 (mixed qtr bag from mint). It has never been in circulation. Do you believe this would still happen?
    Thank you again...

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

The temperature and humidity in your home can affect the surfaces of the coins in the bag.

Chris

Tyler Graton and dollar like this.
  6. dollar

dollar Junior Member

Got it... Thanks Chris and paddyman98

7. Stoneman2

Stoneman2 New Member

Just a few questions.
    What offering did the mint put out with mixed quarters. Same year , different reverses ? Just curious.
    Also , if all coins in the bag were mint state and all stored in the same conditions , were there any others thus affected.
    Lastly, is you pic true to color ? Taking in the background and the surface the coin rests on , the pic looks desaturated.

8. dollar

dollar Junior Member

Thank you Stoneman for your questions...

"What offering did the mint put out with mixed quarters. Same year , different reverses ? Just curious"
    By offering, do you mean price?.. if so, too much.