missing a lot

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by phil Foli, Sep 29, 2020.

1. phil Foli

phil Foli Member

found this penny last night and i just dont know how to explain it the obverse is missing a lot of numbers and letters . the reverse looks great . could this be a mint error and if so how would you label it . thanks for your help missing 1.jpg missing 2.jpg

DEA and capthank like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Worn Die Strike. Obverse Die only.
    Grease filled die. Compacted grease hardens and will not allow the letters and numbers to form properly.
    Neat but nothing major.

4. Robert Ransom

Robert Ransom Well-Known Member

5. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Conversation piece face value only. Better luck next time.

6. Lawrence "Dutch" Keen

Lawrence "Dutch" Keen Active Member

That's the thrill of coin collecting, the investigation of a coin when you think you found a "rare" one. I have a 1964 Roosevelt dime that to me looks like it is a clad version instead of silver, but I can't convince myself of it, even though the weight tells me it is silver. My tests don't help much either. Too bad, but what would I do with it if it actually was a clad dime?

7. Searcher64

Searcher64 Member

Could be of the above, or a fracture part of the die fell off. A very thin part, like a lamination, is a possibility. But, grease fill is a great answer too.

8. paddyman98

I suggest you start your own unique thread.
    Share some pictures with us. We can try to help out!

9. paddyman98

It that were the case then it would look more like a Cud. But no it is not a Cud.

10. Lawrence "Dutch" Keen

11. Lawrence "Dutch" Keen

Thanks, but taking a picture of the edge is proving to be difficult, and I'll have to switch machines to take a picture to send. Working on it though.

paddyman98 likes this.
  12. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder