Misprinted $50 Bill... is it valuable?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by PBT58, Feb 27, 2017.

1. PBT58

PBT58 New Member

Hi all.
    I joined this forum to find some info on what appears to be a misprinted $50 Bill.
    I came upon this bill along with some old $2 bills while cleaning out my mom's old house.

I cannot find anything like it on ebay, so I joined this site to get some opinions.
    Any ideas if this bill has any value above and beyond $50?

Thanks in advance for any info you can provide.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Wow! I have never seen anything like that!
    @SteveInTampa and @mpcusa
    might be the best sources to reply on this!

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Has it been authenticated? I don't get a good feeling about this note.

Chris

5. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

Is that genuine ?

Looks like a ghost print or double print on most of the note, but the color of the ink used for the Treasury Seal and serial numbers looks fishy to me.

6. CoinBreaux

CoinBreaux Well-Known Member

That image makes my head hurt. Very interesting find, I'd imagine it would be worth a pretty penny! If I were you, I'd send it off to be graded.

7. PBT58

PBT58 New Member

Thank you for your replies.
    I have not shown the bill to anybody.

I found this (along with some $2 bills and a $1 Silver Certificate) with my Mom's papers while moving her to a assisted living facility.

My mom was a bank teller back in the 1960's and 1970's and that is how she got the bill. She noticed it was different so she exchanged it with her own money.

How do I authenticate it?

Curtisimo and paddyman98 like this.
  8. Timewarp

Timewarp Intrepid Traveler